Motivation and Perserverance

Well after a long weekend, I have returned to the office and found myself catching up on work and other such things. While taking some time off is good for the soul, coming back stinks as the work keeps piling up. Kinda like writing, if you don’t do a little bit each day, then you feel the weight pile on and soon, at least for me, I tend to throw up my hands and say, “to heck with it.”

I’m always brought back though when in quiet moments, I reflect on the reason I started to write was because I wanted to write stories that I would like to read if I were looking for something to pick up and spend time with and it all seems to come back into focus.

I just finished a 2,000 word “flash fiction” as Jay (http://jaylt.wordpress.com/) likes to call it, and it is interesting to see where your thoughts go and how it is a microcosm of how a longer story can take shape. Who knows if this little piece of work will amount to anything more, but I found it gratifying that I started and finished something. You see in the grand scheme of things writing is about dedication; something that is hard to do when writing something large as a novel.

Maybe it’s just me, but as a newbie starting and finishing something is a strong reward and a big encouragement to keep going. I can at least say to myself, “You see, you can do this, here is the proof.”

So, how about it, is starting and finishing something a motivator? How do you motivate yourself to keep writing?

Until next time.

SB

One comment on “Motivation and Perserverance

  1. Hey šŸ™‚

    So glad you wrote some flash fiction and found it useful, even just a little satisfaction of your own ability goes a long way.

    I need a lot of motivation because I’ll admit, I’m not the most dedicated writer. It’s not that I lose interest, I simply lose will power, which is weird, because I’m not normally like that. So setting myself targets and actually keeping track of my record is helpful and motivating, just telling myself to write 500 words a day, everyday, and doing it keeps me motivated.

    What usually works best is writing an interesting story with interesting characters. It’s the same as reading a book – you just want to know what happens next in the character’s journey because you’re so attached to them and captivated, so I write because I just want to write their journey.

    I completely agree with: You see in the grand scheme of things writing is about dedication; something that is hard to do when writing something large as a novel.

    It’s usually nice to hear things put softly, like ‘if you’re passionate, you’ll complete it’, but when it comes to motivation, you just have to get your head down and write. And when you bring your head up, there you will one day have a novel – your own šŸ™‚

    Nice post

    ~ JLT

Leave a Reply

