Plot

As a newbie author I have read a lot of articles about how a story’s plot is the driving force of any story. What I wanted to know though is how do you write a plot for a story. So I do what I normally do when I want to find something out, I searched the internet. I found a couple of interesting sites that broke down the process of plotting. I always caution those who search and use the internet for information, because there is a lot of garbage out there, but what I looked at over the weekend, was both informative and helpful.

The first site, http://www.wikihow.com/Plot-a-Story list 8 steps to developing a story plot. I am sure these are simplified, but as a newbie it gave me a place to start from.

The next site called the method, “snowflake method.” It was developed by a physics professor turned novelist, http://www.advancedfictionwriting.com/art/snowflake.php

And finally after your characters and conflict have been developed, using a method called “Freytag’s Pyramid” is helpful in terms of structuring your story,  http://www.slideshare.net/mrmadden/freytags-pyramid.

So how do you go about writing your story’s plot? What method or tools do you use?

Until next time.

SB

Leave a Reply

