Pencil to Paper

Today’s post I thought I would update the progress of my writing. Since I started putting pencil to paper I am now up to 2,600 words and I couldn’t be more pleased. I think I have also learned something, I think.

Yesterday I started reading Steve Berry’s (http://www.steveberry.org/) new short story “The Admiral’s Mark. Now bear in mind I have only read about a quarter of the story, but I recognized something. What I noticed was that the story just follows the protagonist Cotton Malone. I see and experience everything he does from him interacting with other characters to his thoughts and what he see’s.

Why you maybe asking is this such a new thing for me? Well, I suppose it is because I have only read novels and I guess secondly, I am paying more attention to writing as a process; anyway the light bulb went off for me.

I being a newbie at writing see myself, at least initially, writing short stories until I get a better grasp of writing and find the confidence to take on a long piece of work. So when I was reading this story, I realized that I was much more engaged in the story from the beginning and it was easier to follow since I didn’t have to keep track of so many characters and make sure that for each scene with the protagonist I have a scene with the antagonist. It all kind of just made sense to me.

So when I finish my initial draft, I will be going back and editing it with the idea of keeping the story moving forward from my protagonist view-point. Hopefully, I will end up with a result I am looking for.

Your thoughts.

Until next time.

SB

2 comments on “Pencil to Paper

  1. Hey there,

    That’s an important point you make there. Talking from personal experience, there are some novelists who undermine the art of short story writing, when in fact it does teach a lot about writing and really sets the base for writing a novel, so it’s glad to know you recognise an important element of short stories.

    And it’s nice, I think, that once considering yourself a ‘serious writer’, you really start noticing things in other people’s work, and suddenly the art of writing is so much more defined, and interesting.

    Signing off this comment before I sound over-the-usual-lame!

    ~ JLT

    • stevebrowne says:

      JLT,
      Hey Thanks for the reply.
      I’m glad to hear that someone else understands the point. I wasn’t sure what kind of response I would receive. I kind of thought I would get more of the, “don’t waste your time on short stories,” comments. Truthfully though, I’m not sure how to really take on such a task; so I guess it only made since to me to try my hand at something more manageable and see how it goes.
      Thanks for the support.
      SB

Leave a Reply

