Just Start

Today I started to put pencil to paper. I guess I’m a bit old fashion that way, but I get a certain feel when I write that way versus sitting down a the computer. Staring at a blank screen seems to put pressure on me to write something and all I do is just find other things to distract myself from writing.

So at least I wrote the first scene. It’s a little over 600 words. My inner critic tells me it’s not very good at all, but that’s OK with me because I wanted to just get it written down first. I must be truthful, this is about where I get stuck and when I stop writing, because I’m not sure where to go from here. Perhaps I will spend a day or two thinking about where to take the story next and that might help me with the next scene. The other thing that I know is coming is creating an antagonist, where and how to weave them into the story.

Oh well, the anxiety of writing. I suppose if it were easy, everybody would do it.

Comments are thoughts are welcome.

Until next time.

SB

4 comments on “Just Start

  1. 600 words for a day’s work is more than achievement 🙂 I agree with ‘My inner critic tells me it’s not very good at all, but that’s OK with me because I wanted to just get it written down first.’ I have always said that writing and editing are two separate things, and you can’t make something perfect by editing if you don’t have anything down in the first place!

    And I *love* ‘Oh well, the anxiety of writing. I suppose if it were easy, everybody would do it.’

    It’s always nice to know how other writers experience the task of novel creation, so thanks for sharing 🙂

    ~ JLT

    • stevebrowne says:

      JLT,
      Thanks for your comments. I appreciate your observations and feedback. I too like to read other writers experiences about writing. It is nice to know others read your post and if it is beneficial, so much the better. I hope this process of blogging will help my writing as well.

      Thanks,
      SB

  2. Sara Flower says:

    Congrats on the 600 words. I would say that is a great start. And I say if the writing flows better by putting a pencil to paper, then it is a good idea to stick to it. What is your story about?

    • stevebrowne says:

      Hi Sara,
      First off, Wow, Thanks for reading my post, it is an honor to hear from you.
      Also thanks for the feedback and comments. Support and comments are greatly appreciated and immensely helpful.
      At this point, the tentative title is, Deadlock. The initial setting is the day before a presidential election. Both houses of Congress are in Washington D.C dealing with an emergency budget balancing bill that needs to be passed to keep the country from shutting down and there is a mysterious man who is going into the HVAC room of each of the six congressional building and tampering with the building air handler boxes. From there I envision what would happen if there were no clear president elected and both the Senate and the House of Representatives were no able to decide a winner because they were all incapacitated. Then it is who has done this, what and why and can they be stopped and if so how is that person or group of people (I envision some sort of secret organization
      may be involved) going to be stopped and by who (my protagonist).
      Any way, seems corny, looking at it on the computer screen, but in my head it sounds interesting. So we’ll see.

      SB

Leave a Reply

