Dreaming

“I had a dream.” OK so it’s not anything like the great Martin Luther King Jr., but I did have a dream and a rather interesting one at that. Which got me thinking, “Do you have dreams? If so, and I’m pretty sure we all do, do you write them down or rehearse them so that later you can use them.

I read somewhere that if you’re stuck for something to write, use your dreams. The themes of mine last night were stadiums, loose change, a cellphone charger and a wallet which belonged to a physician but no one was around to claim it. Interesting ideas to build on or maybe to use in whole or part in a story.

In my current story, since I’m just started writing, I’m not sure how it will fit or even it will fit at all. If it does, how cool it will be to explain how that scene came to be created it; but if not maybe some other story.

So dreams, what do you think? How do you use them?

Until next time.

SB

4 comments on “Dreaming

  1. Actually, the first thing that really got me into writing was a dream 🙂 So for me, writing about dreams is an important thing, and definitely very helpful – free ideas without even thinking too hard! Of course, they don’t always have a place in every story, so if they’re not relevant, I write any interesting or maybe useful dreams in my writers notebook for whenever I’ll need them, and especially in time when I forget them, I can see myself looking back at the dream and hopefully build a scene, if not a full length story, around it!

    ~ JLT

    • stevebrowne says:

      JLT,
      Thanks for the reply.
      I appreciate how you build scenes around relevant dreams.
      I couldn’t agree more about not having to work hard for the material.
      What an honor to have you reply. Thank you.
      Until next time.
      SB

  2. Sara Flower says:

    This is something I have never really considered – writing down dreams and using them for story ideas. I should be doing this, because I have some really crazy dreams. As justlikethat said, they are ideas that you don’t have to work hard for. Thanks for this post. 😀

    • stevebrowne says:

      Thanks for your response.
      I know what you mean about crazy dreams. I can sometimes have the most bizarre of dreams. Kind of cool though to think about how they could be used. You just never know.
      SB

Leave a Reply

